The Secret to Overcoming the Storms in Your Life

Sunday, June 11, 2006 –

The Holy Spirit began today teaching me about authority. As I thought about God being the Father of creation; the thought came to me that everything in it belongs to Him and that includes all of mankind. The Holy Spirit led me to the following scriptures in John 10:17 & 18 “My Father loves me because I lay down my life that I may take it up again. (18) No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it up again. This command I have received from my Father. “ Combined with John 14:30 “I don’t have much more time to talk to you, because the ruler of this world approaches, he has no power over me” and John 19:10 in which Pilate says to Jesus; “Are you not talking to me? Do you not know that I have power to crucify you, and the power to release you?” Jesus responds, “You could have no power at all against me unless it had been given you from above.” Jesus is clearly outlining for me the level of authority in God’s kingdom. He is showing me there is the Godhead consisting of God the Father, His Word/Christ Jesus, and the Holy Spirit, then comes mankind, and lastly the angelic corps. He is also showing me that God sets the limits of mans problems and defines the course the problem will follow clear through to its end and even beyond. The third thing He is pointing out is that nothing happens in the life of a human being without God’s approval. In other words He intentionally allows certain situations to arise in the life of man so we will understand we are eternally dependent upon Him, that we can do nothing in and of ourselves, and that He rewards us at the conclusion of the problem if we are faithful to see the problem through to its end. It is not now nor was it ever God’s plan to take anything away from me. I can give away the things God gives me, but the devil can’t take them from me unless I let him do so. And we let him take our blessings or I should say we hand over to him the keys to our blessings when we let him get us into a situation where we think we have no where left to turn for help and we give up.

I got into trouble when I began to think I could handle my life and business matters better than God could. I thought my problem was my debt and all the trimmings that accompany it, but, thanks be to God, I now realize that what I was seeing was only what the devil had wanted me to see.¬† God has been able to get through this thick head of mine the root cause of my problems isn’t the debt I have incurred, but my reluctance to serve Him with my whole heart. Now I can focus my attention on working out the problems between the Lord and I, and eventually everything in my life¬† that is wrong will work itself out. Praise God.

* Today is August 9th, 2009 and I have overcome the debt situation I talk about in my journal. It wasn’t a one day battle and it wasn’t easy even with the Lord’s help. The battle lasted for three years and I had much to learn about people, problems, and the fortitude it takes to win over some situations in life. If we don’t give up on God, He won’t give up on us and we will win if we stay the course and refuse to quit. I have another battle in front of me that in the natural seems even larger than the one I just came through. My next fight of faith will be the concluding act to the above talked about battle. It’s a fight for the property on which my business sets. My landlord and I had quite an argument one day about three months ago, and He gave me until August 28th of this year to either buy the property or get out. I refuse to borrow money and go in debt, so it will be interesting to see how the Lord works this situation out. I know He will to the satisfaction of everyone involved. He always does. DThrash

Leave a Reply

