Surviving in Tough Times

Thursday, June 15, 2006

I read the story of Gideon in the book of Judges this morning and found the main points of this story to be most interesting. The Israelites in turning away from the Lord to serve idols allowed the enemy of God’s people to come into their land. Eventually, the enemy became so entrenched in Israel that the people left their homes and farms to dwell in caves and in the rough mountainous regions of Israel. It was only after much suffering at the hands of the Midianites, Amalekites and the people of the East that Israel began to cry out to the Lord for deliverance. He heard their cry and sent a prophet to them outlining their faults and failures and explained to them why they were in the predicament they were in. They knew they had wronged God, but instead of turning back to Him before the problem got out of hand, they let the problem go until it was completely out of control before they called on the Lord to rescue them. They had gotten so far away from the Lord that they had forgotten God always has a plan of action for His children and His plans always include men doing their part to solve their problems. Man provides the courage. God supplies the power and the plan.  Smart God, dumb people.

I know this to be true because I am in a very tight spot right now and have done the very thing I have written from the story of Gideon. I have let my problems get out of control and now I am depending upon God to solve them for me. I know He will, but probably not the way I want Him to. He never does.  He has a plan to show me how to overcome my situation, but I will be the one who supplies the labor to bring my problems under control just as Gideon had to intercede for the deliverance of Israel in that day. Smart God, dumb DThrash.

This story continues with part 2 in my next blog entry titled: “Surviving in Tough Times Part 2.

Leave a Reply

