Surviving in Tough Times Part 2

Thursday, June 15, 2006

Gideon, was a farmer’s son, who the story tells us was hiding in his father’s wine press threshing grain out of sight of the enemy hoping to get enough grain threshed that day to feed his father’s family. I am a funeral director hiding out of sight behind the closed doors of my business praying for money to come in and for the phone to stop ringing. It didn’t work for Gideon and it’s not working for me at the present time. God didn’t create cowards, He created mighty men of valor as we will find out later in the story. I, like Gideon, need the Lord to remind me of that some times.  With everything going on in my life at the present time; I can imagine the battle with fear going on in the mind of Gideon the day the angel of God appeared to him. Gideon was constantly aware that his enemies were always close by, just as I am aware.  I, like Gideon have heard the stories of old, and have even seen some miracles of God myself, but that still does not solve my present day problems just as it wasn’t solving Gideon’s problems. Yesterday’s miracles does not grow today’s courage. What I need from God is some fresh news to get me stirred up just as Gideon needed a visitation from the angel of the Lord to get him fired up.

The Lord heard the cry of the Israelites and sent an angel down to the wine press of Gideons father where he found Gideon hiding. He engaged Gideon in conversation and Judges 6:12-16 & 22b-23 informs us what took place inside that wine press that day. “And the angel of the Lord appeared to him, (Gideon) and said to him, “the Lord is with you, you mighty man of valor!” Gideon said to him, O my Lord, if the Lord is with us, why then has all this happened to us? And where are all the miracles which our father’s told us about, saying, “Did not the Lord bring us up from Egypt? But now the Lord has forsaken us and delivered us into the hands of the Midianites.” The Lord turned to him and said, “Go in this might of yours, and you shall save Israel from the hand of the Midianites. Have not I sent you? So he (Gideon) said to Him, O my Lord, how can I save Israel? Indeed my clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.” And the Lord said to him, “Surely I will be with you, and you shall defeat the Midianites as one man.” Alas, O Lord God! For I have seen the Angel of the Lord face to face.” Then the Lord said to him, “Peace be with you; do not fear, you shall not die.” DThrash

This story continues with Part 3 of Surviving in Tough Times in my next blog entry.

Leave a Reply

