Stupid Is As Stupid Does

Tuesday, June 20, 2006

“Stupid is as stupid does,” is a line from the movie Forrest Gump. I have come to learn there is a lot of truth in that statement. Though I may not have perfect understanding of why things happen the way they do, I have come to learn from experience there is a reason for things being the way they are. I live in a world where two spiritual forces are at work; both of which I cannot see, both are more powerful than I, and both have the ability to strongly influence my actions for better or worse. And if I want to be successful in this adventure called Life; I must perform the right actions at the right time to get the desired result, or I will find myself suffering the consequences of making bad decisions that lead to even worse outcomes that more often than not takes a miracle of God to overcome.

Slow learner that I am; I’ve made some bad decisions in the area of finances over the last couple of years; and as a result of bad business practices, I now find myself in an uncertain predicament.  I have learned from experience there is always a positive in all things no matter how negative the situation seems to be at the time. I have learned having the ability to obtain credit and buy things we cannot afford is not a gift from God, but rather a trap of the devil to ensnare us. And of course once something is caught in a trap it has lost its ability to move about freely. It can move no further away from the problem that has it bound than the limits dictated by the trap it has been caught in. For example, if the trap has a three foot chain attached to a stake in the ground, the critter caught in the trap has a three foot radius which grows smaller every time the critter circles the stake looking for a way to get free of the trap. So for all intents and purposes the critters options that used to be many are now limited to few, and for all intents and purposes the shorter the radius of its movement becomes, the less ability it has to defend itself from predators other than the trap setter. My venture into debt this time came as a result of purchasing items to perform services for people who had just lost a loved one who did not pay me for those services as promised and left me holding the bag. From this experience I am learning just how much pressure the devil can put on a person after they make a bad decision.

No problem arrives in our life without a door being opened for it to enter through. People are fools that think their problem just arrived one day and they had nothing to do with its appearance. In this life ‘nothing just happens’. Everything happens for a reason; and if we want to solve our problems; we will have to find the door through which the problem entered and close it. Once the opened door is found and closed, we can then begin attacking our problem. But if we never discover how the problem got into our life it is going to run rampant until we are completely defeated by it. Problems are like thieves; they don’t announce their coming and are continually seeking ways to enter in through an opening in our defenses. If we don’t keep our defenses up at all times, we are asking for trouble and it will surely come at the time we are not expecting it. Jesus stated it this way in Luke 12:39 “And this know, that if the owner of the house had known what hour the thief would come, he would have watched, and not permitted his house to be broken into.” The point Jesus is making in this scripture is that we always have to be awake, aware, and ready, because the spirit realm in which the thief resides never sleeps, takes a day off, or goes on vacation. Jesus is also saying to us, “We don’t have to know when the thief is coming, we just have to be ready for him when he presents himself.”

As a Christian I have to understand there is always activity going on around me in the spiritual realm that affects my daily life and influences the decisions I make.  That is why Jesus warned us in Luke 12:39 “And this know, that if the owner of the house had known what hour the thief would come, he would have watched, and not permitted his house to be broken into.” Most of the time we are aware of what we need to do, but we grow lax or tired and don’t always do what we know we need to do, and when we fail to do what we know is the right thing to do, there is sure to be a consequence for that thoughtless action that we will have to attend to once the problem becomes noticeable.  Unfortunately by the time we are aware of the problem, it is by then out of our control. Just as when we discover we have been robbed by a thief; our valuables have already been removed from our possession and are in the possession of the thief. I am always amazed that while we possess items that are valuable to us; we almost always underestimate the value of them until the thief has taken them from us. I say this because I believe most people are like I am; we seldom take all the necessary precautions to protect our valuables from the thief. I didn’t practice good business practices with all of my client families although I knew better;  and as a result I opened the door to the thief to con me out of the operating money it takes to keep a healthy business afloat. After I provided the services for these families it was too late to demand the money be paid up front which has now become my customary practice. Some of life’s lessons are hard to learn, but this was the positive I discovered in my negative situation.

I also am learning I only have control over the valuables I have in my possession and when my valuables (my business operating fund) was taken from me, I no longer had control of my destiny. So I learned it is best if I stay awake, aware, and ready at all times for any problem that might arrive. I could have did things differently, I should have did things differently when my possessions were under my control, but I didn’t, and now I am dealing with the consequences of my thoughtless actions. DThrash

Leave a Reply

