Jesus, A Real Nut Cracker

Monday, July 10th, 2006

If you are a Christian you are on a journey with the Lord and it will be completed just as He said it will be. If we understand that when the storm is at its very worst, the sky its deepest black, and the voices of the winds are howling their loudest, we are more than half way through the storm and a bright, sunshiny, cloudless sky will soon make an appearance indicating all is well.

Jesus can intervene and still any storm anytime He desires, but sometimes I think we all need a good storm to make us appreciate the good times that follow. Many of us have already passed through many storms in life, and many times we failed to realize the Lord was present with us during those trying times. But we would do well to remember He has promised us, “I will never leave you, nor forsake you.” The Lord isn’t just God of the good times, He is also Master of the storm. I used to think I didn’t need the help of anyone, but the older I get the more I realize just how dependent I am. If I place my hope in man, I have placed my hope in the wrong person, but If I put my trust in the Lord I am on the right track. I had to learn this lesson the hard way because I’m a bull headed man. I don’t know why I have to be that way, but I am. I heard a young boy pray for his daddy one day, “Lord, he may have a hard shell, but you are a real nut cracker. Just break that old shell and make him a good person.” Amen. It seems that man and I had a lot in common.

God knew how to soften my heart those many years ago and lead me onto the right path in life. If He knew what I needed then, He certainly knows what I need now. As the Lord said to me not too long ago, “As long as you have breath in your body, any situation can be changed. I am the resurrection and the life, and nothing has ever gone so far that I can’t reverse the situation.” When He said this to me, the story of Lazarus from John 11 came to mind. In the story, Lazarus had died and things couldn’t have been any worse for his sisters, Martha and Mary. However, Jesus was aware of the situation, arrived some four days later and demonstrated to all present that He is the Master of any storm that may present itself in life, including death. Death was the greatest enemy known to man until Jesus came onto the scene. Death was absolute and there was no chance of a return when death visited. The only thing left for the survivors to do when death arrived was to bury the dead thing to prevent if from stinking up the place. Jesus demonstrated even when things seem to be past hope as it was for Martha and Mary that day, that He is greater than death. He is the way, the truth, and the life, making Him Master over death, and when He speaks Life into something, death has no choice but to release its hold on the thing the Lord has spoken Life into. DThrash

Leave a Reply

