Believe me, if I knew then what I know now, I might not have gotten into the business I am in.

Journal Entry: Saturday June 24, 2006

As I have written before in my writings; I am in the midst of a terrible financial crisis and I just recently repented of my backsliding ways and since that time the Lord has been speaking to my heart about some issues I need to address and how to address them. He has told me to write down my troubles and the words of encouragement I receive from Him. This was His words of encouragement I receive from Him on this day.

Jesus said to His disciples in John 14:12-14 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!” I know this had to have caught His disciples by surprise because up to this point in time He met their every need and in this sentence He is telling them He is leaving them and they would more or less have to fend for themselves and take care of the people who have come to believe in Him. But, He didn’t leave them without instructing them how they were to do those things.

I know those words He spoke to the disciples on that day are just as true for today, and I, like the first disciples, will  have to get those instructions down into my spirit if I hope to overcome my present problems. So I asked the Lord to “Let the arrow of understanding pierce the hardness of my heart that I might understand and help those people around me wherever I might be.” The two keys Jesus spoke of in these passages of scripture are ‘believing and asking in His name’ if we are to comply with His wishes.

Now, if I truly believe God’s Words I will respond to them the same way Jesus did during His walk upon the earth. Everything He did, He did in the name of His Father, and if I do those things in His name as He instructed me, I should get the same results as He did.

The thought just came to me that all people are people of faith. We exercise faith every second of every day whether we know it or not. However, there are two kinds of faith in operation in the earth. There is a positive faith where one believes all things are possible, and there is a negative faith where we are sure everything is going to fail. How we respond to a given situation usually determines how the situation will turn out.

In my situation God allows me to choose which kind of faith I will exercise. A good example of this is found in the Book of Exodus. The Israelites are in a pickle so to speak. The enemy is behind them, the sea in front of them, and mountains to either side, and the promise land lies on the other side of the Red Sea. Talk about a pickle. Their problem was how would they get across the sea to the other side before the enemy coming up behind them caught up to them and killed them all. They could attempt to build boats to cross the sea, but where would they get the lumber in the desert? The could attempt to swim across the sea, but not many, if any of them would actually reach the other side, or they could attempt to build a bridge, but would they have enough time to collect the necessary materials and time enough to finish the work before the enemy caught up to them? Or, they might learn to walk on water, or they could consult the Lord God and see what He had to say about their situation.

Like the Israelites back then, I have a decision to make. Will I trust what I see and hear, or will I believe the Word of God. If I trust what I see and hear, I am dead already and am just waiting for the debt collectors to come and take away everything I own, or, I can do what Moses did at the Red Sea. I can consult God and let Him tell me how to get through the financial sea in front of me. If God worked a miracle for Moses and the Israelites, He will surely do the same for me.

Moses practiced Positive faith and saved his people from certain death at the hands of the Egyptians on the shores of the Red Sea. I can do the same and use Positive faith and receive a miracle, or I can practice Negative faith and watch the debt collectors carry away all my goods.

I do not believe it is God’s will to move a family 200 miles from their comfort zone to watch them be over taken and destroyed at the hands of debt collectors; especially when the debt I have incurred is not of my doing. People for whom I have conducted funeral services have not paid me and this has put me in a spot with my vendors and suppliers. The vendors and suppliers want their money and I can certainly understand that, but when I don’t get paid, I cannot pay them. So what other people have done has affected my well being even though I did not wish to a partaker of their devices. I am nevertheless caught up in a real financial mess of the hundred thousand dollar size and at the present time it is a considerable weight for a man with no means to carry on shoulders that wasn’t mean to carry heavy loads. So I have decided to not complain about my situation. I am going to believe God is on my side and that He will deliver me in His own good time. DThrash

Leave a Reply

