Thithing Misunderstood Addendum 1

I thought I was finished with this subject and had already started a new series on “I thought Jesus was the Son of God, why did He go to hell?”  But apparently the Lord isn’t done with the subject of thithing. So here I am at 3:40 in the morning writing an addendum and giving it the number 1 because I honestly don’t know if there will be more parts or not. The Lord woke me up at 1:30, but I refused to get up. So at 3:15 I still hadn’t fallen back to sleep and my neck begin to hurt and I knew from experience what that means. This wasn’t going to stop until I got up and did what I didn’t want to do. I always sleep through the night as sound as a rock, but I have learned that when the Lord wants me to do something; He wakes me up and won’t let me go back to sleep until I do whatever it is He wants done. Sometimes it is to pray. Sometimes He just wants to reveal things unto me I don’t understand. Other times it is for other reasons. So I rolled out of bed, put the coffee pot on, walked out back to get some fresh air, and soon learned the crickets and the birds weren’t chirping or singing so that meant they were still asleep. There isn’t a sound to be heard inside or out except the coffee maker making gurgling sounds like it is choking while it makes fresh coffee.

I woke up at 1:30 wide awake, I realized that after Jesus died and the dispensation of the Holy Spirit began, God didn’t have to deal with men any longer on the fleshly level. However, I am not convinced that just because the word tithe isn’t mentioned in the New Testament that it means we are not to give God a portion of what already belongs to Him. The New Testament is the God-given guidelines the New Testament spiritual man would live by from that time and forward. Now we know that all men are not led by their spirit and still live according to the dictates of their flesh and still sin. So for these people the Ten Commandments is still pointing them toward a better set of commandments found in the New Testament. Jesus laid out the guidelines for the spiritual man to live by in Luke chapter six, in verses 27-38; “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you. Bless them that curse you, pray for them who despitefully use you. And unto him that smites you on one cheek, turn the other also. Him that takes away your cloke forbid not to thy coat also. Give to every man that asks of you, and of him that takes away your goods ask them not again. As you would that men do unto you, do ye also to them likewise. Love your enemies, and do good, lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward shall be great. Be merciful, as your Father also is merciful. Judge not, and you shall not be judged. Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned. Forgive and you shall be forgiven. Give, and it shall be given unto you.” And in Matthew 22:37-40 Jesus said, “Thou shall love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it. Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and prophets.” And in Matthew 7:12 Jesus gave us what we refer to as the golden rule. “Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them: for this is the law and the prophets.” These two commandments include within them the whole of the Ten Commandments. The first commandment Jesus gave fulfills the requirements of our relationship toward God, and the second commandment fulfills our requirement toward our fellow man. If we do these, we do well. Now exactly what does all this have to do with tithing? This addendum turned out to be much longer than I anticipated, so I broke it into two halves and added addendum 2. DThrash

Leave a Reply

