Troubling Times Surely Come

“And I will pray the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you forever; even the Spirit of Truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him, neither knows Him; but you know Him; for He dwells with you, and shall be in you. I will not leave you Comfortless, I will come to you.” Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep my word; and my Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him. These things I have spoken to you while being present with you. But the Comforter, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you.”

In these verses of scripture found in John 14:16-18. 23 & 25-26 Jesus describes for us the ministry of the Word of God and the Holy Spirit in our life. I have found myself at times searching for answers to problems I didn’t have answers for. I’m sure I’m not the only person to have experience this, but when we are troubled and there doesn’t seem to be a answer for our problem, the Word of God and the Holy Spirit who is our Comforter are there to not only Comfort us during our trying times, but to assist us until we overcome the problem. And we will overcome all our problems if we do not give up. We must understand the Lord has His own plan to fulfill and He has picked us to accompany Him on the journey. He personally picks us for these assignments for two reasons. One, so our faith in Him will grow, and two, so we will be a witness to the power of His Glory.

I have made serveral journal entries on this blog describing the troubling times I was going through that began in 2005 and continued until the end of 2008 and I desperately needed encouragement and comfort during this time of my life. If it had not been for the constant encouragment from the Word of God and the Comfort of the Holy Spirit I would have given up. I was a hundred thousand dollars in debt through no fault of my own and both my personal and business phones rang from eight in the morning until nine at night seven days a week and my mailbox was filled with threatening letters day after day. But I can say with all confidence that all during that time I never lost faith that everything would work itself out. That is not to say I was not grieved and troubled because I surely was. One thing that helped me though this trying time was the reading of the story of the fear that set upon the disciples of Jesus of whom some were experienced seamen when a terrible storm came upon them in the middle of the night on the Sea of Galilee. This particular storm was so terrible these experienced seamen thought they were going to die. They worked feverishly trying to bail the incoming water out of their ship, but their effort was not enough and when they had done all they could they woke Jesus up who was sleeping in the stern of the ship. He rebuked them for thier lack of faith, then quieted the winds and calmed the sea. What I learned from this story is that Jesus was with them and though the storm was especially ferocious they really had nothing to fear. And when He is in the storm with us, His plan is going to be fulfilled and there is nothing on earth that can stop it from being fulfilled. I realized God had a plan for me and this business and Jesus and the Holy Spirit were right here in the middle of my troubling time with me just as they were with the disciples in the middle of the worst storm any of them had ever faced.

This particular storm in my life has since passed and I am just as amazed at the way it ended as the disciples were when Jesus quieted the sea on that particular night. During 2008 my business brought in less money than it had for many years, but despite the shortage of money I was still able to pay off 80% of my personal and business debt. I paid the rest of it off during the first quarter of this year. And as I look back over this time period my family and I and this business never lacked for anything, but the debt passed away so quietly I didn’t realize it was almost paid off until one day just before Christmas when I was going over my books and realized my hundred thousand dollar debt was less than twenty thousand and money was coming in steadily. So I knew the rest would disappear pretty quickly. I learned during this trying time we have to make changes in our life if we are to survive the crisis and have a testimony of the way God delivered us. I have always been a steady tither, but even though I tithed the debt didn’t move. And when the church I was attending started talking about building a new phase onto the church, the first thought that entered my mind was there is no way I can pledge money to build an additon when I can’t meet my present obligations. But I made a pledge anyway; and when I began to fulfill my pledge the debt began to disappear and I have been able to give far more to the building project than I ever dreamed I would be able to. Not only have I developed a bigger giving strategy because of the pledge I made for the new building phase, but the money is coming in at a faster pace than it ever has. That is not to say I do not have problems arise from time to time, I do. But the Lord and the Holy Spirit are truly the Encourager and the Comforter who has a plan for our life, and if we do not give up on them, they will fulfill our desires while they are fulfilling their plan. DThrash

2 Comments

  1. Ken
    God is faithful and we are where we are in life because God is working out His plan advancing His kingdom. We are along with Him for the ride. Know that He will never leave you or forsake you because He is the Master of the storm. When the storm ends you are going to receive a blessing you can not fathom right now. Look past the storm the disciples were in and see the demoniac on the other shore that needed Jesus to set him free. Jesus planned a revival in that area, but first the demoniac had to be set free because he was a key figure in the plan of Jesus for that area. The storm was not the main point of this story; the demoniac was; and in the story when Jesus told His disciples, “Let us cross over to the otherside,” He was giving them His personal guarantee they were going to reach the otherside and no storm was going to prevent that from happening. You are a key figure in what God is doing and when He assigned you to do whatever you do for a living; He gave you a personal guarantee you will fulfill that mission and nothing on earth can keep you from doing so unless you get out of the boat and abandon Him. Keep the faith and God will bless. That’s our reward for remaining faithful even when it looks like it might be the end of the road for us, our business, our marriage, or whatever else might be undergoing the ferociousness of our present storm. DThrasher

  2. Ken Kendall

    What an inspiration. Thank you. I find myself in much the same situation and have faith that God’s plan will be, no matter what.

    I blog about marriage and how men can love their wives everyday in a practical way. I hope you will check it out when you have a chance.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

