Learning to Love God’s Way

Journal Entry: Tuesday, August 1, 2006

Last night I woke up several times during the night with the worse head and neck ache I have had for quite awhile. The first time I woke up, I rebuked the devil and went back to bed. The second time I woke up, I rebuked the devil again and went back to bed. I just said no little head and neck ache is going to keep me up. Well, the third time I woke up I got the impression the Lord was trying to tell me something. So like Samuel, I said, “Lord what are you trying to show me?” The Lord said, “The pain is being applied from outside of you. Life is greater than anything outside of you.” And I said, “Yes, Lord, I understand that.” He said, “Do you love me more than the pain?” I said, “Yes, Lord, I hate the pain.” He said, “The pain is from outside of you and the LIFE in you is greater than the pain.” I said, “Lord, I understand the LIFE in me is greater than the pain from outside of me, but how do I activate the LIFE within me to overpower the pain from outside of me?” The Lord said to me, “Faith works by love.” By this time I knew He was trying to teach me something far more important than the pain I was experiencing in my head and neck. So I assumed from His last statement I am about to learn about LOVE. I went back to bed and slept fitfully the rest of the night.

This morning I came into the office to offer the first fruits of my time to the Lord which is my regular custom. My bible was open to John chapter thirteen; so I began to read, and as I read I realized these teachings by Jesus to His disciples were straight forward and to the point. He knew His time to depart the earth was near so most of His teachings on this evening were about love. He gave them a new commandment, “Love thy neighbor as yourself.” I realized my spiritual training was about to enter a new phase and He was doing more than teaching me about love, He was teaching me; “How to love.” I realize there is a world of difference between knowing about something and actually applying it to real life situations. So I will be the first to admit I have a lot to learn about love, but to effectively serve the Lord I must see man as He see’s them. I know our heavenly Father wants His children to view all people as equals, as people made in His image, and not as less than desireable. God loves all people the same, even the bad one’s. If I am to love like Jesus loved, than I have to learn as His disciples did and let the LIFE in me teach me how to love people the way Jesus loved them. I can see this isn’t going to be an easy lesson to learn because I have been in business long enough to know people will take advantage of your kindness. But I have also learned this is no longer an acceptable excuse for not loving people. So, Lord, bless me with the wisdom I need to learn this lesson and let the learning begin. Amen. DThrash

Leave a Reply

