Tribute to a Christian Mother

I applaud your performance, I stand in awe;

On life’s great stage, you were the greatest performer of all.

As the drama of life unfolded, you played your part to perfection;

And when the final curtain falls, mankind will give you a standing ovation.

On this world’s great stage of pretend;

No Emmy, no Oscar, did you win.

But when the eternal rewards are assigned;

Dear Mother, you will be at the head of the line.

I recall the nights when I was sick;

All night beside my bed you would sit.

And when I was young and going astray;

Only you Dear Mother, refused to turn away.

You were never paid millions for the role you played;

Though your role covered each hour of the day.

This World salutes you, Mother, teacher, friend;

For fulfilling your role daily, through to life’s end.

Yes, I applaud your performance, I stand in awe;

On life’s great stage, you were the greatest performer of all.

And as the drama of life unfolded, you played your part to perfection;

And when the final curtain falls, Dear Mother, mankind will give you a standing ovation.

Written by D.Thrasher on August 20th, 1991

Written in Memory of my mother, Edith Thrasher, December 22nd, 1906 – August 20th, 1991

Leave a Reply

