Ready, Set, Activate!

Before God came into my life back in the seventies I believed mankind had a force field around them that could be activated during times of trouble. My thoughts were that this force field when activated was about fifteen feet in diameter and strong enough nothing could overcome it. I arrived at this conclusion one morning when I stepped out from behind a parked car into a lane of traffic and a car going about forty miles per hour upon reaching that distance from me followed a line of travel around me that I thought was the outer perimeter of my force field. Another time when I was in the military stationed in Londonderry, Northern Ireland, a friend and I were racing another man in their new MGB’s down a narrow country highway just outside of town. The lanes were very narrow and a lorrie which is an english term for a semi literally filled a lane from the center line to the outer edge of the road. We were in one lane and the other racer was in the other when we came upon a long line of traffic going the same direction we were. My friend who was driving changed lanes to pass the long line of traffic, the speedometer showed 120 mph, when a lorrie with a line of traffic behind it topped the hill a few hundred feet in front of us. We had no where to go but straight ahead. I was bracing myself for the collision with the lorrie when the cars to our right and the lorrie with the cars behind it, separated, the one to the right, the other to the left, they seemed to peel away from us or were moved over to the sides of the road in perfect harmony just like the air flow diagrams show in television commercials to illustrate how air moves over and around a vehicle in motion. This action left a clear lane in between the two rows of vehicles for us to pass through. We did so without touching either line of traffic. Everything that happened in that short span of time seemed to do so in slow motion. And despite the fact we were traveling at a very high rate of speed with a lorrie coming at us in our lane and we could have died that evening on a narrow highway in a foreign country three thousand miles from home, there was no fear present. I never gave what I saw happen that evening much thought. I just thought we were two very lucky people. It wasn’t until a few years later and several more isolated incidence had taken place in which I could have died or been seriously injured that I begin to put two and two together and came up with the idea that we have a force field around us that could be activated during times of trouble and it would protect us from whatever danger we were facing. Eventually I came to believe the greater the danger, the greater the strength of the force field. I never mentioned my theory to anyone besides my brother who was with me that day in Oklahoma when I stepped out from behind a parked car into a busy traffic lane for fear people would think I was crazy. I was at the point of testing my theory further when I read a story in a magazine about a man in Russia who also believed men possessed a force field and had proven his theory by stopping a bullet, a speeding car, and many other things. However, at the conclusion of the magazine story, the man had been killed when he stepped out in front of a speeding train.

I more or less forgot about my theory of a personal force field after reading about the death of the Russian man and never gave it another thought until I read the bible story of Job and the hedge of protection surrounding him and his possessions. I realized then that it hadn’t been a personal force field I possessed that protected me and those with me during those dangerous times, but rather God had assigned angels to watch over me and all those who will be saved. [Job 1:9-12] So Satan answered the Lord and said, “Does Job fear God for nothing? Have you not made a hedge of protection around him, around his household, and around all that he has on everyside?…” (Or, in other words, the only reason Job is not fearful is because you protect him, his household, and all that he owns?) Verse 11; “But now, stretch out your hand and touch all that he has, and he will surely curse you to your face!” (Or, my paraphrase of Satan’s reply, Remove your protection from Job and turn him over to me for a while, and I guarantee you he will turn against you and curse you to your face.) Verse 12, And the Lord said to Satan, “Behold, all that he has is in your power; only do not lay a hand on his person…” We, as Christians really need to understand what God is telling Satan in this verse of scripture. The Lord God’s confidence in Job was so great that he allowed Satan to take away everything Job owned, kill his children, and steal all of his livestock. Job fully trusted in the Lord, but was ignorant of what had taken place in the unseen realm. However, his confidence in the Lord God was so strong that despite losing everything of value, he still praised the God of heaven. And to further prove His point to Satan, God allowed him to afflict the body of Job with boils so severe pus ran unopposed from the open sores. Still the severity of Satan’s personal attack on Job’s body did not shake Job’s confidence in the Lord God. And God proved His point to Satan, “A man whose faith is in God is a lot tougher than Satan gives him credit.” As a result of Job’s faithfulness during his trials, God not only restored His protection around Job, but He doubled everything Job had lost during his trial and blessed Job with more children in which there were none like them in the whole country. And, like Job, we will not always understand what is going on in our life, or the reason behind it, but we do need to know that God’s love for us is always present, and He is always for us just as He never deserted Job during His trial, even though it may have appeared so. If you read the story of Job’s losses during his Satanic attack in Job chapter two, and God’s restoration of Job in the latter chapters of the book; you will notice that it describes exactly what Jesus taught His disciples about Satan in John 10:10 “The thief, which is the devil or Satan, comes to steal, kill, and to destroy, (and of God’s plan for His children) but I have come that you may have life, and life more abundantly.”  Or in other words, “Our shield of faith will sustain anything the devil can throw at us.” So let us never forget to activate our force field of faith in God – and let us remember God’s plan is always to restore us if we are injured in the battle, and to bless us extremely more abundantly when the ordeal is over. DThrash

Leave a Reply

