Do You Want To Be Made Well?

Now a certain man was there who had an infirmity thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him lying there, and knew that he already had been in that condition a long time, He said to him, “Do you want to be made well?” The sick man answered Him, “Sir, I have no man to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up, but while I am coming, another steps down before me.” Jesus said to him, “Rise, take up your bed and walk.” And immediately the man was made well, took up his bed, and walked. And that day was the Sabbath. [John 5:5-9]

Jesus knew about the condition of this man before He visited Him. Whether or not someone told Him of this man’s plight, the story does not say. But the story shows He cared enough for the invalids problem that He went to this man to minister to his needs. So, if you are an invalid or have some other serious problem that has gotten you down, He is aware of your problem even if it keeps you hidden away out of sight behind the walls of your home. And if you read your bible, He is asking you the same question He asked the invalid at the pool, “Do YOU want to be made well?” And it really doesn’t matter what your problem might be. Jesus raised the dead, cast out devils, opened blind eyes and healed every disease known to man. As well as, fed the poor, calmed the stormy seas, and walked on the water. What these mighty miracles proved was that He had the power over any challenge that presented itself. So whatever your illness might be, or whatever problem you are dealing with, whether it is health related, financially related, or mentally related, write it on this line ________________ and answer the question Jesus asked the invalid at the pool, “Do you want to be made well?” Do you want to break the power of the spirit that keeps you poor, anguished, and in poor health? “Do you really want to be made well?” If you do; you have a part to play in your recovery.

The invalid in this story had been paralyzed for thirty-eight years. Or, in other words, the man in this story had been wrapped in the embrace of that paralyzing spirit for thirty eight years. So the point of this story is; it doesn’t matter how long the enemy has had you bound up, the opportunity for you to be rid of it is still viable. If you answered, “Yes,” to the question Jesus asked the paralyzed man. You will receive the same response from Jesus this man received, “Rise, take up your bed and walk.” Kick that sickness out of your body, that poverty out of your life, or that mental problems. Kick your enemy out of your bed! You’re not married to them! Then rise up and walk away from them. Jesus is your bethroed and has the answer to your problem. If you don’t read your bible, get it out and see what God says about your illness. And believe me poverty, mental problems, health problems, and all such things are illnesses. They are affecting your well being, but Jesus has a solution for them if you will do as He commands. Their power to keep you bound will be broken, and your life will be changed.

When Jesus said to the man, “Rise, take up your bed and walk.” He was saying to the man, “You have a part to play in receiving your healing.” The paralyzed man had to have a desire to be free of his infirmity, and he had to make the effort to “Rise up.” When he met the condition layed down by Jesus, the power of God broke the power of the spirit of infirmity that had the man bound. The invalid could have chosen to stay right there in bed with his affliction and many people do, and Jesus would have let him stay there. Jesus is offering us a new life today. If we want our situation to change, it is up to us to do what we have been commanded. We have to make a decision to receive from the Lord what has been freely offered. The Lord won’t make us do what He says, but we would be wise to do what He tells us. If we do as instructed like this man in the story did, our life will be totally transformed. If we don’t, our life isn’t going to change one whit. When Jesus told the paralyzed man to, “Rise up.” A challenge had been laid down. The man had to make the decision he was going to rise up and kick his affliction out of his bed. Once he made the decision he was going to do as he had been commanded, the paralysis had to let him go, the power of it was broken, and the man got up out of his bed and carried it home with him.

We have the same opportunity presented to us today, the same challenge is being issued to us the paralyzed man at the pool received. What is your response going to be? As for me, I made up my mind a long time ago I am not going to suffer if I don’t have to. I have had back problems, hemmoroids and everything in between, and the Lord has healed me of everyone of them because I have come to understand these things can’t keep me bound if I don’t want to be bound by them. But, everytime a problem arose, I had to make a choice to follow the directives of the Lord before I was healed. Did I still have back pain when I declared I was healed of it, you bet I did, but I received my healing within a day or two because I know that the stripes that Jesus bore upon His back was for my healing. [1 Peter 2:24] I also know it is my right as a child of God to be free of illness, [Luke 13:10-17] so everytime I am attacked, (and it is an attack of Satan) I apply the Word of God to my problem and within a short time I receive my healing. That is what Jesus was saying to the paralyzed man at the pool when He said to him, “Rise up.” Jesus was telling him in that command it was his right to be free of the paralysis that was holding him in its embrace. The paralyzed man believed Him, exercised his rights, got up from his bed, and carried it home with him, rejoicing all the way. Now what we do with the information we receive is up to us just the same as it was for the man at the pool. He did something with his information and his life was transformed. What are you going to do with the information you have received? Your well being depends upon the decision you make. God Bless, and have a wonderful day in the Lord. DThrash

2 Comments

  1. DThrasher

    I just cliked on the word entries under subscribe and it brought up a page with all the recent entries on it. At the top of this page where it says, “subscribe to this rss feed” I clicked on it and it came up immediately. I don’t know why you might be having a problem with the rss feed, it worked great for me. DThrash

  2. Great Share But I’m having problem with your feeds. Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Does anyone else facing identical rss issue?

Leave a Reply

