Two True Life Stories.

I own a funeral home in a small town and one day a few years ago a man walked into my office to check on prices for a cremation. As we sat talking, I learned he had no family, was very ill, and was contemplating committing suicide. I asked him if he was a Christian, and he said, “No; He didn’t know if there was a heaven or a hell.” As he was leaving I walked him to his car and asked him the question, “Wouldn’t it be better to know for sure whether or not heaven or hell are real places before he did something terrible he might regret later?” To make a long story short, he drove away without answering my question, and I read in the newspaper a few days later that this gentleman had in fact committed suicide. I took this bad news to heart. And this bothered me for quite some time until I realized he wouldn’t have told me what his plans were if he wasn’t asking for help. And if he was asking for my help, maybe he heard what I said. And I also realized the Lord had sent him by here checking prices because He knew I would tell him to not give up hope. So without realizing it I had done my Christian duty. Truthfully, I don’t know what transpired between him and the Lord after he left my place. I just know the gentleman did take his life, and that he is now in the hands of the Lord.

Then a  couple of months ago, another incident took place that is noteworthy. A young lady who sells insurance came by my office and saw my bible lying open on my desk; and made the comment that her aunt was seventy fours years old, had stage four cancer, and the doctor had told her she had just a short time to live. The young lady also said her aunt had a doctor’s appointment coming up in just a few days and the family was preparing for the worst. When she got up to leave, I asked her if she would mind if I prayed for her aunt’s healing according to God’s Word in 1 Peter 2:24. She and I joined hands and prayed a simple prayer that this lady would be healed by the stripes that Jesus bore upon His back. She left with tears in her eyes, and came back into my office the following month. We made some small talk about insurance, and she said to me, “Do you remember my seventy four year old aunt we prayed for the last time I was here?” I said, “Yes, how is she doing?” She told me when her aunt went to her doctor for her appointment; they ran some x-rays and couldn’t find a single trace of cancer anywhere in her body. By this time my young friend was beaming as she relayed to me the story of her aunt’s miraculous healing. She said the doctor looked at this lady with amazement because he couldn’t believe what he was seeing on the xrays. Needless to say, “We had a shouting good time before she left.” God is so good. Our Heavenly Father knows what each one of us is able to trust Him for. One of them had never bothered to search for the Lord until the day he stopped by my office; Was that enough? I don’t know. While the other had just have enough faith to believe. They experienced completely different results based upon their knowledge and understanding of who Jesus Christ, was, is, and will be, when He comes back. The one died, the other lived. Why? I wish I had the answer.

We have to wonder; Did God love one of these people more than the other? The answer to this question is a resounding, “No!” The bible which is God’s Word tells us, “He is no respecter of persons.” Meaning He loves all of us equally and without respect. But we have a responsibility to love Him back in the same manner He loves us. And I believe this is where we find the difference in the two outcomes of these two stories I have written. One never got to know Him and the other did. The one knew of His great love for her, the other didn’t. God did not want to see the one live and the other die. Jesus came and died an ugly death so that both of them might live. They made their choices based upon their understanding of Him. Through the death of His son He provided for all of our needs. But if we don’t partake of His provisions it is because we don’t want to; not because they haven’t been provided. Let me leave you with one last piece of advice given to us by God Himself in Hosea 4:6 where He said, “My people are destroyed by a lack of knowledge.” It has never been in God’s plans for man to die. We do so because we lack knowledge of what He has provided for us. He made a way for all of us to live a more quality life than what we are presently living, but we have to want that quality of life and we have to know that it has been freely provided for us. Have a Blessed and Wonderful Day in the Lord. DThrash

1 Comment

  1. I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines :). Check out the link in my name. That links to a tool that really helped me rank high in google. This way even more people can enjoy your posts and nothing beats a big audiance 😉

Leave a Reply

