Who Do You Say I Am

I have always found this line of scripture to be the most intriguing of all scriptures in the New Testament and it is found in Matthew 16:15. People have a lot of things to say about Jesus; some of them are correct and others are way off base, but it is not important who other people think Jesus is, it is only important who I think Jesus is. Does that make sense? If I think Jesus is who He says He is, and there are others who think the same as I do, we have something in common upon which to build a relationship because we have agreement. That’s why it is hard to build a relationship with people who have a different opinion of who Jesus is. We have nothing in common with them concerning our spiritual beliefs, and that is also why Scripture tells the believer not to marry people of a different belief. (2 Corinthians 6:17) “Come out from among them and be separate, says the Lord. Do not touch what is unclean, and I will receive you. I will be a Father to you, and you shall be my sons and daughters. Says the Lord Almighty.” I know some people who read this Scripture will think God is intolerant, but you may not after I explain it in terms we can understand. Our relationship with the Lord is like a marriage between a man and a woman. The bible says, “The Lord God is a jealous God.” (Exodus 20:5) What that means is; He is so in love with us that He doesn’t want to share us with anyone else. Do you get the picture? So in my explanation, let me use marriage as an example of how our relationship with the Lord should be. Let’s say you are married to a wonderful lady, the woman of your dreams; but you stay away from home after work hanging out with your friends only coming home to your wife after the place where you are hanging out closes. How do you think those actions will affect your marriage? Will your wife be a happy camper? I don’t think so. Why? Because she see’s your friends as having more of an input in your life than she does. It is also pretty clear to her you care more about your friends and what they think, than you do her. And if a person continues doing these types of things, their marriage will end in divorce. This is how God views our relationship with Him. If we devote more time or equal time with people who do not have the same beliefs toward Him as we do, are we foolish enough to think this will not affect our relationship with the One who supplies all of our needs according to His riches in glory? The one who cares for us when we are sick, who provides our income, shelter and clothing for our body, and the car we drive. Who meets our every need because we are the apple of His eye, but if we do not honor Him and respect the things He does for us; do we really think our unappreciative attitude is enough to maintain that loving relationship. No, it isn’t. It won’t work with your wife, and it will not work with the Lord.

If I love my wife, I will do everything I can to keep her happy to keep that flow of love moving in my direction at all times. It should not be important to me what other people think of my wife, the important thing is what I think of her and how she feels about me. If there are other people who think of my wife as I do, we have something in common. If not, why would I want to waste my time with them? And if I spend time with them listening to what they have to say about her, I could possibly start believing what they have to say. If I love her, why would I want to put her in that situation? No one in their right mind would do that to a wife they love. And if we would not do anything to harm our relationship with our wife, why would we do things that would cause harm to our relationship with the Lord? God Bless, and have a Wonderful Day in the Lord. DThrash

Leave a Reply

