Mom, I’m so hungry I could eat the northend out of a southbound skunk.

I grew up in rural Illinois and never owned a watch, but everyday at precisely twelve o’clock, I would hear my mom’s voice calling all of us kids to come home for dinner. That time never varied by more than a couple of minutes, so I would run home to eat because I knew mom had a meal waiting for me. As I entered mom’s kitchen, I would say to her, “Mom, I’m so hungry I could eat the northend out of a southbound skunk.” She would laugh, tell me to go wash up and sit down at the table. I’m here to tell ya, “My mom was a great cook.” And the smells that floated around in her kitchen would cause you to drool all over yourself. She was that good of a cook. But, most people in America don’t know what it means to be really hungry. My family didn’t have much when I grew up, but we were never hungry. Not the kind of hungry where your stomach is gnawing at your backbone. We know there are some hungry people in America, but not to the degree that is so rampant in many other parts of the world where people have absolutely nothing to eat and no where to turn for help. There are programs on television that show us scenes of starving people in far off places, but we don’t see such hunger here in America. So we have a hard time believing anyone anywhere else in this world could be that hungry. But, if you have ever been anywhere outside of the United States you would soon realize just how blessed this country is and just how poor many other countries are.
To the degree many people in this world are suffering physical hunger in their natural bodies; the Christian should be just as hungry for the things of God. The church in America at this time is starving to death for the truth of God’s word, and for a move of God. We are in a spiritual famine just as severe as the physical famines in other countries. Since we have entered into this spiritual famine; every kind of evil known to man has availed itself to keep this famine alive. It comes in every form and in every type of media available to man. But the church ignores it because it doesn’t have the power to fight back. We are weakened and have lost our strength because we are spiritually starving. While men preach on how to get more money out of God, and where to purchase their books on seven step to whatever, we hear nothing about striving to obtain the righteousness of God where He fills our all in all and we become the righteousness of God striking fear in the heart of the devil and his associates.
Jesus said in [Matthew 5:6] “Blessed are those who HUNGER and THRIST for RIGHTEOUSNESS. For they shall be filled.” The kind of hungry Jesus is talking about isn’t a physical hunger. This kind of hunger cannot be satisfied with a burger and fries. This is a spiritual hunger that is way down in our spirit gnawing at our soul; crying out to be satisfied with God’s righteousness. Nothing else can satisfy it. Only God can fill it. Jesus said when we develop that kind of hunger for the things of God, “We shall be filled.” Brothers and sisters, that is the kind of hunger it will take for us to see a move of God in our country, and in our churches, and in the communities in which we live. Are you hungry?  When God gets that kind of hunger working down in our soul gnawing at our spirit and we begin to pursue the righteousness of God with our whole being; we will see every kind of miracle begin to take place in our lives, in our families, churches, and in our communities. God longs to see His children doing the deeds Jesus performed on this earth; setting His people free of their sins, demons, ill health, and cares of this world.
T. L. Osborn, a world renowned evangelist once said, “It is harder for a person in America to receive a healing for a headache than it is for a person to be healed of cancer in most other countries of the world.” The reason Americans have a hard time receiving from God is because they have no faith in God. I have ministered in Mexico and seen all kinds of healing take place because they had no one to turn to but God. Isn’t that a travesty? God has blessed this country more than any other country in the world; and because He has; we should have faith to move every mountain in our life, our neighbors life, and in this country; but that is not the case. Which goes to show us God is a God of faith, and whoever has faith in Him to meet their needs, gets their needs met. Those who don’t, won’t.
I have ministered in the dump ground area of Monterrey, Mexico, as well as the remote areas of central Mexico and have seen every kind of miracle take place. I just preached the Word and told them, “God is here to meet your needs. Who has faith to be healed, delivered, and set free?” And immediately a line formed and God met their needs. I saw the deaf hear, the blind see, and the bent over stand up straight, stiff bodies made flexible, people delivered, and the lost saved and filled with the Holy Ghost and consumed by the love of Christ. Then I have ministered here in America and said the same thing; and the people looked at me like I was nuts. Their actions told me, “We don’t believe in that faith healer snake oil stuff here. All that passed away with the Apostles you know.” And sure enough God didn’t heal anyone there because of their unbelief. The difference between the two groups was the Mexican people knew they had no one to turn to but God, and the faith of the American people was in their doctor. Both got what they believed for. God met both of them where their faith was. The Mexican people didn’t pay a dime to receive their healing from God, but Americans leave the hospitals minus some part of themselves as well as a lot less money than they had when they entered. DThrash
30 Comments

  1. Good site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  2. I always visit your blog everyday to read new topics.,’*;.

  3. I just like the helpful information you supply in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m reasonably sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the following!

  4. *An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  5. Oh i really envy the way you post topics, how i wish i could write like that.,:~~”

  6. DThrasher

    I get a lot of spam and your previous comment must have been marked as spam or I would have more than likely posted it if it was relevant to the topic being discussed.

  7. I posted one more comment to your blog, but you didnt approve that. I still keep check your blog anyways..

  8. Hmmm, yea I concur with which, it makes me totally…. Yep….

  9. Your blog never ceases to amaze me, it is very well written and organized.-;;;”

  10. *I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!…

  11. I always visit new blog everyday and i found your blog.

  12. I’m a blog crazed person and i love to read cool blog like yours.-;”~.

  13. Just killing some in between class time on Digg and I discovered your article . Not normally what I desire to examine, but it was absolutely worth my time. Thanks.

  14. I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

  15. You…are…my…hero!!! I cant believe something like this exists on the internet! Its so true, so honest, and more than that you dont sound like an idiot! Finally, someone who knows how to talk about a subject without sounding like a kid who didnt get that bike he wanted for Christmas.

  16. Hey man I just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to write something worth my time to read. I am all over the net and I see so much pointless content that is just written for the sake of putting something new on their page. It takes passion to create good stuff, thanks for caring.

  17. I just sent this post to a bunch of my friends as I agree with most of what you’re saying here and the way you’ve presented it is awesome.

  18. You are not the average blog author, man. You definitely have something important to add to the World Wide Web. Such a outstanding blog. I will be back for more.

  19. I think this is among the most vital information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  20. What a great site to stop and view by, I admire your blog and love to leave a comment here!!! Thanks for the nice post.

  21. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  22. Thanks in advance for your kind and generous input.

  23. I think your blog is great. I found it on Bing. I will definately be back.

  24. DThrasher

    All comments are sent to my email address for review before they are posted to the blog. Thanks for the nice comment. Appreciated it. DThrasher

  25. Vicenta Bunde

    This is certainly my initial stop by and I really like what I’m seeing. Your weblog is so much fun to look over, quite compelling as well as informative. I’ll undoubtedly recommend it to my friends. Nevertheless, I did have some problem with the commenting. It kept giving me an problem whenever I clicked on publish comment. I hope, that can be fixed. Many thanks

  26. DThrasher

    Gil, you are welcome. God Bless. Don

  27. Heya i got to your site by mistake when i was searching bing for something off topic here but i do have say your site is really helpful, like the theme and the content on here…so thanks for me procrastinating from my previous task, lol

  28. You created a very good position with what you explained. A great number of people ought to read your posting so they can obtain a greater point of view on this subject. It was great of you to supply fine details and supporting arguments. After reading this, I know my mind is extremely clear on the subject matter. Continue the fantastic work!

  29. Hi, great day! Your article is very striking. I never imagined that it was probable to accomplish something like that until after I read your write-up. You certainly offered a great insight on exactly how this kind of whole process operates. I’ll always come back for more tips. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. il credit repair

Leave a Reply

