The Sacrifices Of God Are A Broken Spirit

Psalm 51:17 tells us, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, and a broken and contrite heart – these O God, you will not despise.”  The Psalmist is not talking about a spirit that has been crushed and no longer has confidence in anything or anyone. But what the psalmist is saying is our spirit is to be broken unto God to the point we realize we are nothing without Him and everything with Him. This brokeness before God is quite different from having a broken spirit that lets people run over us before discarding us for something better. The brokeness of our spirit before God is a spirit that is united with the Spirit of God and one that is strong and full of confidence that He will assist us through the difficulties of life because He is the strength of our life. And because He is the strength of our life we have nothing to fear from anything that opposes us in life. God’s own Son, Jesus Christ, had a broken spirit unto God, meaning He came to do the will of the Father and not His own, and He certainly was not a weak individual and no one ran over Him. The life Jesus lived among men was a demonstration of what a man’s life can be when it is lived in brokeness before God. Brokeness before God simply means we have nothing in our life we care to hide from Him. And because we serve Him with our whole heart, we are a person who is usable and one through whom He can work to accomplish His will on earth.

Psalm 51 was written by King David shortly after Nathan, the prophet of God told him the story of a man who owned one little lamb and a greater man than he came and took away the man’s little lamb. David was ready to execute the person for the bad deed done against his Jewish brother. But, Nathan told David, he was that man. David had slept with Bathsheba, the wife of Uriah, who was a very honorable man and a an officer in David’s army. Fearing Uriah would discover his deceit, David had Uriah killed so he could have Bathsheba for his own. (This is my adaptation of this story from 2 Samuel chapter 11) Once David realized his evil deed wasn’t hidden from God; David repented with his whole heart and God restored him to his rightful place of fellowship with Him. But not without David forfeiting the life of the illegitimate child he had with Bathsheba. David’s cry of repentance unto God was, “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Do not cast me away from your presence, and do not take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me by your generous Spirit. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners shall be converted to you.” (Psalm 51:10-13) How wise we would all be if we were as quick to repent of our sins as David. He had a broken spirit before God and he loved God with all of his heart, but he was a man, and men sometimes make mistakes and sin; but, if we, like David, have a broken spirit before God, we will repent of them as soon as the Holy Spirit points them out to us. And God will restore us to our rightful place in His kingdom just as He did David. And if we are so bold as to tell others of God’s grace; who knows, they just might repent of their sins and be saved. Have a great day in the Lord. DThrash

15 Comments

  1. I dont usually comment and post on blogs but since I saw all these other comments I decided that I had to leave one too just to say keep up the good work, I like what you have had to say until now.

  2. DThrasher

    Thnak you. Dthrash

  3. I just noticed your blog and love what I have noticed all ready, and by the look of the number of comments so does everybody else. I would personally nevertheless take a look at a few of these comments, since a number of them are most often crap.

  4. DThrasher

    Thank you, Jacki. All comments are welcome and graciously received. DThrash

  5. Your website is great! This post really caught my eye when I was searching around. Thanks for sharing it.

  6. I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am starting a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business.

  7. Thank You For This Post, was added to my bookmarks.

  8. Hubert Drumheller

    Simply want to say your article is as tonishing. The clearness in your post is simply spectacular and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  9. DThrasher

    Isaura,
    I am fairly computer ignorant. However, I am waiting for my daughter’s help to get me up and running on the sites you mentioned. DThrash

  10. Isaura Rutt

    We should get in touch. Are you an active user on top social networking sites like Digg, Facebook, or Stumble Upon? If so, what is your username so we can get in touch to share ideas.

  11. Thanks For This Post, was added to my bookmarks.

  12. Substantially, the article is really the greatest on this deserving topic. I fit in with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your upcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be sufficient, for the wonderful lucidity in your writing. I will directly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Good work and much success in your business dealings!

  13. Ladawn Usrey

    Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher!

  14. I had to refresh the page 2 times to view this page for some reason, however, the information on here was worth the wait. I loved that it is also really easy to read for the eyes.

  15. Sorry for my bad english. Thank you so much for your good post. Your post helped me in my college assignment, If you can provide me more details please email me.

Leave a Reply

