Mom’s University

There is something missing in the homes of today that was in them just a few short years ago. You don’t hear families talking about gathering around the kitchen table at supper time to enjoy one another’s company and talk about the events of their day. Nor is their kitchen table any longer the place where mothers teach their children respect. Respect for their elders, respect for others, respect for their siblings, and respect for themselves. It just isn’t done and it shows up in our school systems, and out in public. When I was a youth if I made an ass out of myself out in public, I answered to my dad when I got home and he would not have had mercy on me for being disrespectful to another person. And I find as a result of my upbringing, I do not allow my children who are now grown to be disrespectful to other people either.

Back then kids went to school during the day to learn how to read, write, and do arithmetic, but it was around our supper tables and at the feet of our mothers where we learned life’s greatest lessons. I called the Thrasher kitchen table, “Mom’s University” because that’s where she taught us right from wrong, good manners, and how to treat other people. She didn’t have a PhD in Education, nor did she get her earthly wisdom from a brick and stone mausoleum we call a university. As a matter of fact she never went to college, but she was one of the greatest and smartest women I knew. I wrote a tribute in her honor when she went home to be with the Lord in 1991, and called it, “A Tribute To My Christian Mother.” It is posted at the top of this page and well worth the minute or so it will take to read it. Five of the nine Thrasher children she brought into this world are no longer with us, but everyone of us received the same lessons, and everyone of us was required to put into practice the precepts she taught us around our supper table. I will not say there have not been times I broke one of the lessons we were taught around mom’s kitchen table those many years ago, but as soon as I did I had to repent because I would hear her voice reminding me that is not how we were taught to talk to people, nor is that how we were taught to treat them. As a result of her wisdom I still do the best I can to live up to her expectation and that is also why I wrote my tribute to her on the day she died. There are some of life’s memories worth hanging on to, and there are others that are better off forgotten. Like everyone else, I have had my share of hard times, and my share of good times, but I have found the teachings I received at my mother’s feet still have a powerful influence on how I deal with day to day issues. And I sincerely hope that the things I have taught my own children will stay with them as long as the lessons I learned in “Mom’s University” have stayed with me. DThrash

2 Comments

  1. DThrasher

    You are so right. I don’t think there is a lonlier outpost in society today than that of being a mother in the home. Things are about as different between when I was a child and today as they could possibly be. Thanks for the feedback. Don

  2. Thanks, man…this is encouraging. I left university to keep a kitchen table. It’s kind of a lonely outpost, even in church/family-values circles…which I find less than consistent, but that’s the way it goes, I guess.

Leave a Reply

