No Problem Is Ever As Big As It Looks

I ran across this entry in one of the personal journals I have written over the years for my children’s benefit. As you will notice it was written on Wednesday, July 5th, 2006, just one short month after I had rededicated my life to the Lord. At this particular time I was involved in a terrible financial battle in both my personal and business affairs. The one came as a result of the other. After reading the article I thought it would be worth posting and in some way it might help someone else fighting a similar battle. I hope you enjoy reading it and that it will in some way help you understand your problems are not always a result of your actions, but you still have to deal with them. DThrasher  

Wednesday. July 5th, 2006

Jesus said, “Have faith in God.” And the Spirit says, “No problem is ever as big as it looks.” When I find myself in a difficult situation all my problems appear to be as big as mountains, and I will be the first to tell you, “I am not a skilled mountain climber.” If I reach the point in life where I see my situation as being impossible, I am resigning my fate to defeat and will do everything in my power to try to avoid my problem. That kind of thinking is silly because my problem is always with me until I defeat it. If I look forward the problem is there. If I look to my right the problem will be there, or to the left, or behind me, the problem is still present. I cannot escape my problems by trying to run away from them, and at some point I will have to deal with it before I can move on to a new learning experience. If I want to conquer my mountain sized problems I will have to find a person who is a skilled problem solving mountain climber to help me overcome my mountain size problems. I have found that person in the Lord Jesus Christ.

God wrote the script for the Book of Life and completed it before the creation of the earth. So He knows about every situation I will encounter in life. Stay with me here because this is the part most Christians don’t understand: We are children of God. He is our Father, and He is the one who outlines our course of instruction from which we learn to live life abundantly. Satan is not our teacher. He is only an instrument in the hand of God in much the same way a pencil is a tool in the hand of a student. He is useful to God only as an instrument of resistance that causes us to learn how to become overcomers in life. If he was not useful in that respect God would have destroyed him long ago. God ordained every situation that will confront me so I might learn something from them and become a stronger person because of them. That is how much He is concerned about my success in life, and in death. When I begin to look at my problems as learning experiences and understand they are placed in my life to teach me I am not an island, but rather that I am to lean upon the Lord who is all wise to show me how to overcome them; I will graduate to another level in my walk with the Lord. There is always a positive in every negative situation. The Lord is my positive influence and when I understand this I will learn from Him, follow His instructions, and overcome the problem which is the negative force attempting to stall my efforts to please the Lord during my time of temptation. However, all problems are not easily solved just as all storms are not just light rain showers, but we will get through the problem and we will pass through the storms of life if we follow God’s directions, make preparations for such an event, and apply ourselves according to what we have learned from past experiences. Sometimes problems last for days, months, and even years, but as long as we don’t give up on the Lord, we will not only survive our problems, we will overcome them. We have God’s Word on it. Isaiah 43 “Fear not, O Israel: (Insert your name here) ____________  for I have redeemed you, I have called you by my name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you: When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon you. For I am the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”

The Lord identified Himself to Israel at the end of this particular scripture as “Your Savior.” He was not only the Lord God, Savior of Israel, in the Old Testament, but He is Christ Jesus, the Savior of the members of the New Testament church who will become the Bride of Christ, and who will be seated beside Him on His throne ruling and reigning with Him over all of creation for all time. So what He said to Israel in the Old Testament applies to the Bride of Christ in the New Testament. We all belong to the Lord; (Psalm 24:1) and it is His desire that we understand that He is not only our creator, but our Hero, our Savior, our Groom to be, and He has outlined for us what we must do to qualify to become a part of the Bride of Christ. He is the one who forgives us of our sins, washes us in His blood, and assists us in our walk with Him, so we might become holy and pure, worthy of such a Husband and Savior, who absolutely adores us, as we should Him. He loves us so much He stepped between us and death and took the bullet meant for us; sacrificing His life to prevent our death, so that we might live to become His beautiful bride. DThrash

Leave a Reply

