Standing Firm in Tough Times

Have you ever come to a point in your life where you are simply overwhelmed by your problems? More than likely you have, but if you haven’t, you will. I know you’ve all heard the saying, “Bad news travels ten times faster than good news.” It’s true. For some reason people seem to enjoy passing along bad news. If you have ever found yourself in a situation like I just described, then you know; problems are like waves of the sea that just keep coming, and the longer they come the greater they grow in intensity. It’s during these times people begin to wring their hands and wonder if they have the strength to stand firm when everything in their life is being turned upside down by things over which they have no control. And unless you are abnormal these problems are always accompanied by the thoughts, “What have I done to deserve this?” I, too, have been there. So I am well aware of what one experiences during their trials. Sometimes you are the source of your problems, sometimes you aren’t. Personally, I felt like I was being tossed around like a fishing bobber in a tempest during my latest one. It was during those times my days seemed to be three times longer than they normally are. Everything I did seemed pointless. Nothing seemed to work. My mind was going a hundred miles an hour. I was clutching at straws hoping one would be strong enough to support me during my trials. They weren’t. I prayed, I begged, I did everything I could think of to find peace. There was none in sight for my poor soul. I wanted to strike out at the people who caused my problems, but I knew that wasn’t the answer. I also realized I was not the first person to experience such a situation. And with that thought in mind, my recovery began. I realized if I was to overcome my problems, I would have to get control of my thought life. If I was mentally tough I could find out where things went wrong; what I could do to beat these problems; formulate a plan; and stay with it until I won. After I won over my problem I realized, in a round about way, I was the source of my problems. Out of kindness to others, I had fed the problem. Then when they didn’t keep their word to me, my problems escalated out of control. At that point, I no longer could let my mind run freely and roam where it wanted. I needed a plan of action that would work because my problems had grown to mountain size problems. So my thoughts centered around; “How do you move a mountain?” Then I began to study the lives of people who had overcome a lot of adversity in their life and won over their problems. I chose to study the life of Job, a man of many sorrows, but of great understanding. And from this book I learned how to move a mountain with my mouth and my hands. I studied Solomon, a very wise man, and what made him successful early in life. I read about David, a shepherd boy, who became king. And I read about Jesus who came and did good, but was killed because people hated good. That is when I learned, that no matter how good you are to other people, it isn’t always appreciated. That changed the way I conducted business, and ultimately, it gave me victory over my problem.

My problem was created because I was too nice to people and thought my kindness would be returned in like manner. I was wrong. I learned when people make excuses as to why they can’t help you meet their need; many of them forget your kindness after you have met it for them. It took a number of years for this to develop into a mountain size problem and it took me three years to remove it, but it was a valuable learning experience. That’s where the saying, “Life is the classroom God uses to instruct His children in right living” came from located at the top of this page.

One last thought; the Apostle Paul said in the book if Ephesians, “And when you have done all to stand, stand some more.” In other words determine you are going to see this problem through and you are going to win because you will not quit, and losing is not an option. DThrash

2 Comments

  1. DThrasher

    Thank you Mode. Life is full of hard-knocks, but if we won’t quit, we will win. DThrash

  2. A+ would read again

Leave a Reply

