The Compassion of Jesus

Today’s blog entry is found in Matthew 9:35-37 (NKJV) in which it reads, “Then Jesus went about (or through) all the cities and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the gospel of the kingdom, and healing every sickness, and every disease among the people. But when He saw the multitudes, He was moved with compassion for them, because they were weary (harassed) and scattered, like sheep having no shepherd. Then He said to His disciples, “The harvest truly is plentiful, but the laborers are few. Therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.” And from the Message Bible the story is interpreted like this, “Then Jesus made a circuit of all the towns and villages. He taught in their meeting places, reported kingdom news, and healed their diseased bodies, healed their bruised and hurt lives. When He looked out over the crowds, His heart broke. So confused and aimless they were, like sheep with no shepherd. What a huge harvest! he said to His disciples, “How few workers! On your knees and pray for harvest hands!”

These scriptures describe for us how Jesus sees the people of this world? He sees them as confused and aimless… like sheep with no shepherd. They have no clear direction and no clear purpose in their life, therefore they are easy pickin’s for the enemy of their soul. The story tells us, Jesus (who was the physical body the Word of God took upon Himself – John 1:14) was heart broken when He looked out over the people and saw the pitiful condition of their souls. Why was the Son of God heart-broken? The religious leaders of their day wouldn’t help God’s people because they were more concerned with what they were doing to be seen by men than they were with the needs of the people. The times haven’t changed, only the players in the game of life have changed. Our friends and neighbors are still wandering around just as confused, aimless and harassed by the enemy of their soul as the people of Israel were during the days of Jesus, and for the same reason. They have no faith that our church leaders will help them because there are still power hungry, money grubbing, people in the church who are there for the paycheck and benefit package provided, rather than healing the hurts and pains of the people who come to them for help. That’s why there was no power in the church before Jesus came and that is why there is no power in the church today.

There will be some who disagree with my assessment of the present day church and say, “That’s not my church. I visit the sick, pray for God to heal them, visit the poor, preach powerful sermons and help organize all of our fundraisers.” That’s well and fine; “Do you not think the Pharisees did these same kinds of things for certain people?” Read what Jesus instructed His disciples to do in Matthew 10:7-8, “And as you go, preach, saying, “The kingdom of heaven is at hand. Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers. raise the dead, cast out demons. Freely you have received, freely give.” The Message Bible says it this way, “Go to the lost confused people right here in the neighborhood. Tell them that the kingdom is here. Bring health to the sick. Raise the dead. Touch the untouchables. Kick out the demons. You have been treated generously, so live generously.” No where in these passages of scriptures did it say God would do these things for those who have been sent. The shepherd has one responsibility and that is to watch over the owner’s sheep because the owner’s welfare depends upon their shepherds caring for their flocks, healing the hurting ones, driving off the wild animals who would kill them, feeding them, and seeing that the sheep are well cared for because happy sheep bear many lambs and unhappy sheep bear none.

The shepherd is a picture of the pastor of a local church. They both have one job and that is to see that their flocks are cared for; and if they do, the owner of the sheep will be happy and will reward them handsomely. If the Master is unhappy with the shepherd’s care of His sheep, that shepherd isn’t going to be rewarded for being uncaring. Jesus said, “The shepherd gives his life for the sheep.” What that means is – if the shepherd/pastor does not tend to the needs of the sheep in his care, it would be better if he didn’t return home at all because He will give an accounting for the sheep/parishioners he allowed to wander away from his flock, let the wild animals/Satan devour, and those that were so miserable they bore no lambs. Pastors seems to have forgotten what their role is in the kingdom of God. It’s not about doing things to receive praise from men, but rather putting to use what we have been freely given. Jesus said, “Freely you have received, freely give.”

Matthew chapter 10 from the Message Bible gives us a clear set of guidelines to follow for tending to and caring for, those confused, aimless, and harassed sheep, that make up the majority of the world’s population. Then after reading Matthew Ten, we need to obey it, and forget about our own needs because our needs are small compared to the misery of the hurting sheep in this world. The Lord has promised each of us He will take care of our problems while we are seeing to the well-being of His hurting people. However, if we fail to do what we have been commanded, don’t be too surprised if the Lord forgets to add our name to the roll in heaven. DThrash

105 Comments

  1. Just bookmarked your site, I love how you have taken the time to write all this content just for us.

  2. Wow, incredible blog format! How long have you been blogging for? you make running a blog glance easy. The entire look of your website is wonderful, well the content material!

  3. When are you going to post again? You really entertain a lot of people!

  4. Sometimes I question the internet and what is posted? Honestly the internet used to be like a different place, except that recently it seems to have become better and of the reason for it to be improving are blogs like this.

  5. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  6. Hey especially nice weblog!! Man .. Lovely .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your weblog and take the feeds also…

  7. I love everything about this! Woo!

  8. outstanding

  9. Right to the point and written well, I appreciate for that post

  10. Aw, this was a really quality post. In theory I’d like to write like this too – taking time and real effort to make a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and never seem to get something done.

  11. Thanks for any really clear and valuable post. I’m certainly a violator of numerous of those guidelines.

  12. Your blog looks Amazing, where have you found it? please share it with me? my email is Shallenberger@hotmail.com thanks in advance, Carlee Mckie

  13. howdy, I view all your blog posts, keep them coming.

  14. Youre not the average blog writer, man. You definitely have something powerful to increase the web. Your design is really strong that you could almost escape with being a bad writer, but youre even awesome at expressing what you need to say. Keep up the good work man!

  15. Great post, very thorough discussion with the topic. Does anybody know where can find additional info about this subject? Thanks for any input.

  16. I found your internet site last week and I have been reading it frequently. You have a lot of good informative stuff here and i also like your kind of the web page also. Keep up the good work!

  17. DThrasher

    There are still many people in this world who are being killed for talking about what I just wrote. It hasn’t reached that point here in America, but the day is coming when we will not have freedom of speech here either. But despite the threat of death to these brave Christians, they have decided nothing will stop them from talking about the Lord. I salute them! DThrash

  18. I added your blog to bookmarks. And i’ll read your articles more often! Before this, it would be possible for the government to arrest you just based on whatever you were saying, if they didn’t like it.

  19. Your blog is so informative … keep up the good work!!!!

  20. DThrasher

    Sure. DThrash

  21. Straightforward and well crafted, ty for the post. Can it be alright to create a number of this on my page basically post a link to this page?

  22. I’ve been reading out some of your stories and i can claim pretty nice stuff. I will surely bookmark your site.

  23. I just added this site to my bookmarks. I love reading you. It had been quite helpful and helped me tons

  24. Someone Sometimes with visits your site quite often and recommended it in my experience to read too. The way of writing is excellent and also the content is pertinent. Thanks for the insight you supply the readers!

  25. DThrasher

    I thought so. DThrash

  26. Whoa! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Wonderful choice of colors!

  27. My boyfriend bookmarked this link and I came here accidentally. Thanks a great deal for this post! A real good read. I don’t have a lot of time right now to create a lot of my blathering opinions,(my lil girl needs attention, lol), however when I return tomorrow evening, I will explain in depth why I truly dig with this particular article.

  28. I need to frequent this site much more often, information like this is hard to come by.

  29. DThrasher

    We also didn’t have to deal with spam, but if you want to write about a particular subject today you have to put up with the people who think these sites are their private advertising agency. DThrash

  30. DThrasher

    Go into your dashboard and uncheck the box that request comment updates by email from by blog. That should take care of your problem. DThrash

  31. Great site here. Many websites like yours cover subjects that cant be present in print. I dont understand how we got on 15 years ago with just magazines and newspapers.

  32. I simply couldnt leave your website before letting you know that I really enjoyed the quality information you offer to your visitors Will be back often to check on up on new posts

  33. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox on some post of yours and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  34. Can you message me with any hints & tips about how you made this website look this awesome, I would be thankful.

  35. Dear admin, thanks for providing this blog post. I found it great. Take care

  36. I spend a lot of time eading blogs, but articles like yours are rare to find. Keep it up, you’re doing a good job.

  37. fantastic post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You must continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

  38. I don?t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  39. Just thought I’d comment and say cool theme, did you create it by yourself? Its really great! Straightforward and written well, appreciate the post.

  40. Im really loving this site, and hope this, as well as the excellent article another individuals have written, can help people

  41. This website is awesome. I continuously encounter some thing new & different right here. Thank you for that data.

  42. This article gives the light in which we can observe the reality. This is especially nice one and gives in-depth information. Thanks for this nice article.

  43. I have a few days I have this blog bookmarked as a favorite site. A little funny, because even kilak weeks ago on this forum I said before, but no blog you will not find among my esteemed pages. Testifying to the extraordinary discussion that blogs are always niewartosciowym Internet junk, on which there is no reliable knowledge, or objectivity. I’m not talking now about a specific address here, but all – is talking about blogs in the form of handbooks, diaries, and information services – there is always a lot of unreliable knowledge and unverified information, which translates into my long-standing aversion to these sites. However, its unwillingness to revise its humility, a few days ago I searched the Internet resources in the search for specific knowledge. A little of the case visited a few blogs, because even though the subject matter often appears in the network, but this subject rather superficially presented. Kidy came across this blog, I was more than surprised. It turned out that the issue presented here is very extensive. There is no doubt that in terms of content is the best service of its kind in the Polish network. Not only that – even scientific, popular, and service breaks are not able to match this portal. So far not succeeded, and even contact the author of all the major publications. But I hope it succeeds – it will write to my email and did not disappoint me, as a faithful reader of the future and will continually grow your blog. Because these sites are thin on the ground in the Polish Internet. Why did I write all this? All through my character, I do not like making mistakes, but if … is to admit them. Such is the case here. Of course, one swallow does not make (they say), but on the basis of this blog I’m willing to admit that this kind of sites on the Internet can be very valuable, kind and above all interesting.

  44. DThrasher

    This particular page design is about as simple as it gets on WordPress. I have had people ask me to do lots of other things to it which in my opinion would only complicate it further. So for the time being I will leave it as is. DThrash

  45. You’re making a lot of great points during this blog post however it is very hard in my opinion to concentrate on this article on the complicated page design.

  46. Thanks for the fantastic work! Cool blog. You will find a number of opinions on this topic and this blog states the problem very good.

  47. Realy good work cheers mate!

  48. I really like your blog. Thrust into the top issues in this subject. It seems to me that you have many wise words to say and not afraid to speak aloud their sentences. Keep up the invite to your blog pozycjonowanie stron

  49. My mate and I were just talking over this particular issue, jane is continually seeking to prove me wrong! I will show her this particular write-up not to mention rub it in a little!

  50. Really good site. Thank you for writing.

  51. Outstanding article…! I really love visiting your blog for the reason that you always give us informative articles. I enjoyed it once again.

  52. This website is awesome. I continuously encounter some thing new & different right here. Thank you for that data.

  53. Hi….thanks for this good information.I’m so happy because it’s very useful for my thesis research.I hope you will keep updating your content constantly as you have one dedicated reader here 🙂

  54. DThrasher

    It depends upon the amount of free time I have. Lately that hasn’t been much. DThrash

  55. I’ve been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I?ll try and check back more often. How frequently you update your web site?

  56. I’ll definitely be returning to your site to see more articles as i loved this one..

  57. Awesome post!

  58. Nice one mate. Keep writing

  59. DThrasher

    Thanks DThrash

  60. You can certainly see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  61. Great post. Quite interesting. It’s my job to do not read your blog, but this post definatelly caught my attention.

  62. Wow, that’s well written text. I will bookmark it now. Appreciate your work

  63. I have to say that I am suprised to find such an interesting blog

  64. DThrasher

    I try to keep them to 1000 to 1500 words. DThrash

  65. I think you went too much in details with this article.. i like them short, but it’s still great.

  66. DThrasher

    Every thing in life has a polar opposite. A coin has two sides; there is hot and cold, day and night, a front side and a back side, a head and a tail, none of these things even closely resemble one another, but they are all part of the same equation. If there is hate, there is compassion, if there is fear, there is courage. If there is a devil who hates, there is a God who loves. We see the effects of all of these forces in this world do we not? We may choose to ignore them, but they are there, and if we base our eternal destination upon our refusal to examine all sides of a thing, we show the limits of our understanding. You have chosen not to believe Jesus see’s people through the eyes of compassion; I have chosen to believe He does. With that in mind, each of us must live our life according to the understanding we possess. DThrash

  67. Very interesting, but I don’t think it’s true.

  68. DThrasher

    For some reason when I follow the instructions on WordPress to add a twitter account… it won’t allow me to do so. IDK what the problem is. DThrash

  69. I noticed you don’t have a twitter icon on your blog, you need to get one so that more people will know you exist.

  70. DThrasher

    Right side of blog entry. DThrash

  71. Awesome post, where is your rss? I cant find it!

  72. DThrasher

    I believe so. DThrash

  73. When I open up your Feed it provides me with a lot of garbled text, is the issue on my end?

  74. Thanks for this post. I for sure agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  75. I?ll right away grab your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  76. I love the articles on here but your Rss has a handful of XML issues that you really ought to correct.

  77. Pretty good article. I just came across your site and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your opinions. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  78. Thank you very a lot for posting this article. It has benifited me and my neice hundreds and I might be browing manner of your different posts as I loved this submit very much. Thanks again and continue the good work!

  79. This is my first time I have visited here. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the good work.

  80. why don’t you add a mailing list to your blog?

  81. okay because of your idiot proof instructions my 1st actually remark – nicely done

  82. Thanks for this information!!

  83. hey! thanks for this blog. I is really a pleased bunny..lol.

  84. DThrasher

    Why did I write this article? God is love. And love sent His Son into the world to express that love thru healing the hurts and pains of His people and meeting all of their needs. He hasn’t changed. He still does those same kinds of things today. If you have a need and we all do, go to Him with a sincere heart and He will meet yours as well. DThrash

  85. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in composing this article.

  86. Good day! Thanks for your time for that fantastic written content. I been curious about what made you author this particular web site write-up? Anyways, have a wonderful afternoon and many thanks once more for a solid read.

  87. Thanks for this information!!

  88. Thank you for this awesome discussion & narrative of the question. You’ve made it out better than any topic I’ve seen. Also thank you for citing my classwork on it. Your’s takes it better.

  89. Hey there

    I just found your superb blog and I have to tell you how much I enjoy what you have shared with us. I hope to swing by sometime soonand find something else I enjoy.

    Please keep up The tremendous effort.

    in Boston Massachusetts

  90. Thank you very a lot for posting this post. It has helped me and my girl friend hundreds and I doubtless browing means your other posts as I enjoyed this submit very much. Thanks once more and continue the good work!

  91. Great work! keep the posts coming… i’ll keep reading them. Thanks

  92. Like it. Thanks.

  93. You are a very clever person!

  94. Definitely, what a magnificent blog and enlightening posts, I will bookmark your blog.Have an awsome day!

  95. Hello. fantastic job. I did not imagine this. This is a excellent story. Thanks!

  96. Many thanks for the informative post. My wife’s calling me for dinner So I need to operate off without having reading as much as I’d like.

  97. I love this blog, I found it on Bing and I think I will come back one day, it very interesting for me. Thanks

  98. Thank you for the intelligent critique. Me and my neighbour were just preparing to do some research about this. I am very thankful to see such great info being shared freely out there.

  99. One must agree! Just incredible! Your writing style is charming and the way you managed the topic with grace is laudable.

  100. This is my first time I have visited this site. I found a lot of interesting information in your blog. From the volume of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

  101. Your weblog came up in my search i am astounded by what you’ve composed on this subject. I’ve bookmarked your web website and will be returning to keep up with any forthcoming updates. Thanks for granting my input.

  102. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the subject and found most persons will approve with your site.

  103. I’m really Glad i found this website.Added dthrasher.wordpress.com to my bookmark!

  104. DThrasher

    GR, the view is correct, however, having said that, it’s another matter to convince people they need help because of the poor assessment they have of the modern day church. But, if we are obedient to the cause of Christ, we have nothing to be ashamed of because Christ is returning for a faithful people, and we will be numbered among those that remained faithful if we do not grow weary in well-doing. I will be praying for the Lord to strengthen you. DThrash

  105. Not long ago I had the same view, needless to say experience change my mind, don’t know if it’s for the best, that’s why I wish you the best of luck. Nice post;)

Leave a Reply

