People of Faith Series “King David”

David was anointed by Samuel the Prophet to be king of Israel at an early age, but his life was not without conflict. The bible tells us while watching over his father’s sheep he had to slay a lion and a bear who tried to kill some of the sheep he was in charge of, and at the age of fourteen he challenged and killed Goliath an accomplished Philistine warrior. This mighty man struck fear in the hearts of the army of Israel and King Saul, but David killed him with nothing but a sling and a stone..

David was a man of faith who trusted in the God who had made him king. But during the time of the rebellion of his son Absalom, he chose to run rather than fight so he wouldn’t have to kill his son, or be killed by him. It was during this time that he wrote Psalm Three. “Lord, how they have increased who trouble me! Many are they who rise up against me. Many are they who say of me, “There is no help for him in God.” But you, O Lord, are a shield for me. My glory and the lifter of my head. I cried to the Lord with my voice, and He heard me out of His holy hill. I lay down and slept: I awoke for the Lord sustained me. I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people who have set themselves against me all around. Arise, O Lord, Save me, O my God! For you have struck all my enemies on the cheekbone; you have broken the teeth of the ungodly. Salvation belongs to the Lord. Your blessing is upon your people. Selah

Isn’t it hard to believe that the people who wanted King David dead was a jealous son and the sheep of his pasture. The one’s he had protected from the enemies of Israel. David chose to flee Jerusalem and place his life in danger rather than kill one whom he loved. It wasn’t that he had to flee from Absalom; the men who were around David were mighty men, experienced in battle and fearless. One had slain eight hundred men in a single battle, another had climbed into a pit on a snowy day and slew a lion, three others fought their way through a Philistine garrison to get David a drink of water from the well in Bethlehem. No, these men who stood with David were not untested green recruits, they were as tough as David himself, they had fought beside him in battles, they were honorable men, obedient men, who loved their king more than they loved their own lives, and they left Jerusalem with David rather than being put in a position where they would have to kill the king’s son while protecting the life of the king.

David was a giant of a man despite his short stature. He was a man’s man, a man among men. He had the heart of a king and the strength and courage of a lion, he was fearless in the face of his enemies and in Psalm Twenty-Three he wrote, “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for thou art with me.” David depended upon the arm of the Lord to protect and preserve him during his most difficult situations and the Lord always came through for him. Why? Because the Lord said David was a man after His own heart. One who loved his people; one who would give his life for his people; one who would allow himself to be taken advantage of rather than destroy the people and the city he loved. David was merciful and kind, but he was a terror to the enemies of Israel. He never tasted defeat in battle because the God he loved was with him. Can we say the same? Can we say we have the same love for God’s people that David had? Do we depend upon the Lord to deliver us from all our trials? Are we merciful and kind to mankind despite the wicked things they do and say about us? Are we a terror to the enemies of God’s people? If not, we should be. And God would say of us if we were, “These are people after my own heart, and I will defend them. Though ten thousand enemies may rise up against them, they will not be afraid because I will smite the ungodly on the cheek and take away their power.” DThrash

Leave a Reply

