The Dream

On Friday night, the 8th of April, in the year 2011, in the middle of the night, I woke up from a dream that was so real it left an indelible imprint on my soul. I dreamed I was in the presence of Jesus and in the dream He visited the church I pastor. When He came into my presence I felt so unclean. I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt it was Jesus and I had to confess my sin. I realize now this is what happens when sin comes into the presence of holiness. Sin begs to be forgiven for the wrongs it has committed. In the dream Jesus never said a word to me; He just looked at me through eyes of pure unadulterated love and I asked if I could hug Him. I’m not a big hugger per se, but I was drawn to Him by an invisible force and I felt I needed to hug Him. And when I reached out my arms toward Him, He extended His arms toward me and the next thing I knew, I was in His embrace. I felt the warmth of the love I had seen in His eyes radiating out of Him permeating my total being, beginning in my chest and moving throughout my entire body touching every nerve and every fiber as it moved. Only once before had I experienced such love and I knew I was forgiven for every wrong thing I had ever done in my life. It was a feeling I shall never forget. The dream was so real it very well may have taken place.

The other time I experienced that kind of love was on the day I was born into the kingdom of God. On that night, I had asked to be forgiven of my sins and when I confessed I was a sinner, I looked down toward my chest and I could see clear through my being and I saw my old sin filled heart was cleaner than any freshly washed pane of glass I had ever seen. There was absolutely nothing of my old sin remaining. I knew that evening for the first time in my life that I was loved, really loved, by One I wanted to serve for the rest of my life.

I walked out of church that evening those many years ago a brand new person. God had given me a second chance, a new life with a new spirit born again in the image of my God, but He hadn’t save my flesh. I would have to learn to use His Word to gain power over my flesh and cause it to come under the control of the newly born spirit within me.

It has been a long hard-fought battle winning the battle with my flesh, and many times I lost ground in the fight, but after last night, I feel like I have been rejuvenated in my spirit to once again wield the sword with a greater strength than I have ever known. Praise God. DThrash

Comments are closed.

