Where Are You Lord?

Have you ever been in a situation where you thought you were all alone in this world and no one really cared whether you lived or died? The sad truth is a lot of people could care less about what happens to you; but thank God everyone is not like them.

There are people who will go out of their way to help you if you are really trying to get your life straightened out. But if you use other people to get your way, the people you can turn to when the chips are down is really small. Everybody knows bad news travels ten times faster than good news, so you don’t have to mess over too many people before there is no place left for you to go before you hit bottom.

I know because I faced this same situation a few years ago. It was not that I was a person who used other people, but one day I found myself without a place to stay and no money in my pocket. I put all my clothes into a paper bag, loaded my Doberman into the car and drove sixty miles to ask my brother for help. He let me stay with him and the rest is history as they say. If he had not of been there for me, I don’t know what would have happened to me. I had too much pride to ask an acquaintance for a handout, so I turned to a brother when there was no place for me to go.

My recovery wasn’t immediate. I had to work to make a dime, but over time I earned enough dimes to make it through that first year. Then I gave my life to the Lord and my new life began to take shape. Almost immediately my pay went up by several hundred dollars a week, and not long after that I got a teaching job, then a maintenance supervisor job at a major university, and today I have a good family, a business, pastor a small church and I’ve got the devil by the tail and making him pay for all the evil he did to me in the past.

I did not despise my small beginning and now I realize it was a stepping stone to something much greater. That’s how the Lord works. I had to learn how to walk with Him before I could fly with Him. You know what I mean? Many people have these things in reverse order. They want to fly with the Lord before they learn to walk with Him. That’s not how the Lord works.

When I was at my lowest point in life; Where was the Lord? He was right there beside me. When I didn’t know where to go for help; He led me to my brother. When I didn’t have a dime, He showed me where to get one. And when I needed a better job, He already had one lined up for me. And when I desired a wife, He had one prepared for me. So where is the Lord in the midst of your low points? Right beside you saying, “I will never leave you or forsake you. This is the way, walk ye in it.” And if you let Him do the leading everything will turn out fine, but if you ignore Him, you are still trying to find someone to use.

Comments are closed.

