Why Are You Troubled?

The disciples of Jesus were having doubts and asking each other questions about the death and resurrection of Jesus after His crucifixion because they believed the Jews were seeking them out to kill them. So Jesus appeared to two disciples on the road to Emaus and asked them this question. Luke 24:26 “Ought not the Christ to have suffered these things and to enter into His glory?” 

Jesus had told His disciples in John 14, “I am going away to prepare a place for you… and if I go away to prepare a place for you, I will return for you.” (My paraphrase of John 14) Jesus had no intention of leaving His disciples alone in a very evil world. So when doubts began to arise, Jesus visited His disciples. First on the road to Emaus and later in a house in Jerusalem. To those in hiding He asked this question; Luke 24:38-39 “Why are you troubled? And why do doubts arise in your hearts? Behold My hands and My feet, that it is I myself. Handle me and see, for a spirit does not have flesh and bones as you see I have.”

This question Jesus asked His disciples back then applies to us today. Why are we troubled and why do we allow doubts to arise in our hearts when a little difficulty besets us? We have something those disciples of Jesus didn’t have at the time. We have God’s Word written down on paper and the Holy Spirit living in us to assure us we have nothing to fear from Satan or man. The Apostle Paul wrote to the Roman Church in Romans 8“If God be for us, who can be against us?” Jesus had not forgotten those first disciples and He has not forgotten us either. So let us stop worrying and start working just like His disciples did after they were filled with the Spirit. Those men and women turned the world upside down in just a few years and we can do the same in less time because there are so many more of us than they were of them.

Comments are closed.

