Do I Go To The Doctor Or Stay At Home?

It is the middle of the night here and I have Gall stones that started acting up the moment I went to bed three hours ago. My question is, “Do I go to the doctor and have my gall bladder removed thus relieving the pain or do I stand on the Word of God that tells me, “I have been healed by the stripes that Jesus bore?” Do I believe the pain or do I stand on the Word of God. It’s decision time. I know what my body is telling me to do, but I also know what the Word of God says. The pain in my chest, back and stomach is real, very real; but the Word of God is alive and active and sharper than a two-edged sword able to penetrate even to the separating of the soul and spirit. Should I endure the pain or give in to the pain? What would you do? If I give in to the pain and go to the doctor they will want to remove the gall bladder; is that exercising faith, or is standing on the Word of God despite the pain; exercising faith? People have different beliefs as to what constitutes faith. To me faith is… having more confidence in what God has done for me than Satan can do to me.

This is not the first time I have had to make a decision concerning a pressing issue very much like this one. God has never let me down in the past, but I had to endure the pain until I heard from Him. I had a tooth ache that was throbbing so bad it had me rolling around on my bed holding my head. This went on for hours and I kept rebuking the pain and then I heard God say to me, “Go into the kitchen and eat something and where the pain is chomp down on the food with all of your might.” That made no sense to me whatsoever, but I did what the voice told me to do, and presto, the moment I chomped down on the banana I had peeled for the occasion, the pain stopped and never returned. So if God delivered me in that situation; will He do it again in this situation? I think so, but I haven’t heard Him tell me to do any particular thing at this time, so the pain remains and I am standing fast.

I figure there are two ways to look at my condition. I can look at the pain and say to myself, “Oh, no, you need to deal with that. Or I can figure God is finding out if I really believe what I preach.” I prefer to think God is finding out if I really believe what I preach as opposed to thinking the other things. Now I know God doesn’t put things on us, but He does allow certain things to happen to us to find out what we really believe. Are we totally dependent upon Him, or do we just say we are and do what we want when things don’t go the way we would like? I would like to think I am totally dependent upon Him. I know that He has already provided everything we need to deal with situations such as this. He has given me His Word that I was healed when Jesus took those stripes upon His back. If I believe that then God will uphold His end of the bargain and I will keep my gall bladder. But if I don’t I will lose my gall bladder. That is the predicament I find myself in at this late hour. Do I go to the doctor or do I stay at home confident that I have already been healed and this gall bladder problem will disappear along with the pain just as quickly as it appeared. Will the great pain I feel in my chest, stomach and back force me to do what I don’t want to do, or will I endure the pain and wait for deliverance? That is the two choices I have. I must pick one and be content with the results.

My son who works from 3 pm to 3 am just walked through the room and asked me what I was doing up at this hour and when I told him about the pain I was experiencing, he said to me, “Why don’t you have the gall bladder taken out?” I know that didn’t come from God because God does not take from us what He has given to us… He adds life to our life; he doesn’t take away from it. (John 10:10) When I told Him I was healed by the stripes that Jesus bore, (1 Peter 2:24) he just laughed and went into the kitchen to find something to snack on. I know having the gall bladder removed would be the simple thing to do and the pain would be gone, but I would be minus a part of me that God put in me. If my gall bladder wasn’t necessary for my body to function properly then it wouldn’t be there; and if something is wrong with it; God will fix it as good as new if I have the courage to believe His Word and refuse to be moved off of it. DThrash

 

Addendum: I believed God for my healing and in less than a week my gall bladder problem was taken care of by the Word of God that told me, “I was healed by the stripes that Jesus bore upon His back for my illnesses as I knew I would be.”  More than a year has passed since that time and I am still in possession of my gall bladder and it is working fine. Let God’s Word be true and everything that contradicts His Word is a lie. Pain is not the truth, it is a sympton that tells us there is a problem. That’s all pain is and all it will ever be. God’s Word is truth. Yesterday, today and forever. DThrash

Comments are closed.

