Super Christian or Just Religious

People aren’t going to like what I have to say in this message because it drives the point home that to be a disciple of Jesus Christ much is require of us that most people aren’t willing to do. If I wear a foot long cross around my neck, or wear necklaces, rings, bracelets, t-shirts, and deck my automobile out with bumper stickers which such sayings as, “Real men read their bibles,” etc, – does that make me a super Christian? If I get on the internet and fill my social media pages with beautiful serene pictures, and poetry, post quotes of famous people, and tell people, “If you love Jesus, hit the Like button” – does that make me a super Christian? If I start a motorcycle club and recruit a hundred members, deck myself out in Christian garb and ride around the countryside on beautiful days showing my colors – does that make me a super Christian?  If I never win a soul to the Lord – am I still a super Christian? I don’t think any of these things make us a Christian? What I do think is it makes us is a religious zealot and nothing more. Luke 14:26-27 & 33

The word Christian means to be a ‘little Christ. Jesus was a man that on the night He was arrested had to be pointed out to those who came to arrest Him and He was a household name in Israel. That’s how common and humble He was. What we wear does not make us a Christian. What we say does not make us a Christian. It is what we do for other people that defines whether we are a Christian or not. The bible teaches us we are to make disciples of all nations. What that means is we will have to roll our sleeves up and get next to that dirty bum we can’t stand and do all we can to change their life. Or the person the Lord sends us to could be that foul-mouthed neighbor we can’t stand to be around because their profanity insults our virgin ears, or He might send us to that drunk who smells like a cess-pool because he urinates all over himself every time he gets drunk.

I have not written on a new topic. Religion was center stage when Jesus was on earth. He had to fight it everyday of His ministry and that isn’t likely to change until He returns. James said, “Show me your faith without works, and I will show you my faith by my works.” (James 2:18) James knew if a person wasn’t willing to roll their sleeves up and meet the low life where he was that person had no faith; but if they were willing to do what Jesus did to win the lost, they had the makings of a true Christian.

I will close with this thought: The average church wins one new convert to Christ each year. This does not include those people who jump from one church to another. What about all those churches who go year after year and never win a new convert? Still everybody in those churches think they are going to heaven when they die because they attend church. That line of thinking is contrary to what Jesus taught in Luke 14. Jesus said in Matthew 28, “Go into all the world and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.” The word disciple means to imitate or be in the process of learning how to become like one’s master. How many in the church world are really striving to become like Jesus Christ? And how many are serving themselves and the denomination they belong to?

Comments are closed.

