God Resists The Proud

When I was a young man in my twenties everything went my way for quite some time. I had more money than I could spend, more girlfriends than I needed, and more material items than I could take care of. I was a free spirit who loved people and proud of what I had accomplished. But when pride and God meet, pride will lose every time. At the time I didn’t know God blessed people or even care about people for that matter; I just thought I had gotten all these things by my own wit and charm. But that isn’t how things work in God’s kingdom. Those who promote themselves and do not recognize God for who He is will lose everything. I didn’t recognize God and moreover I didn’t know there was a God, and in just a few months all I had gained in life was gone. It was only then that I began to pursue a higher power. I read all kinds of books about higher powers, did what the author suggested, but none of them helped me. I didn’t know that higher power I was looking for had a name and I didn’t know He wanted to get personally involved in the lives of people.

I knew people who said they were Christians. I ran around with pastors kids who said they were Christians, but they weren’t any different than I was. We did the same things, went to the same places, and knew the same people. One night I met a person with a beer in has hand who said to me, “I’m a Jesus freak.” I said to him, “You sure are hypocrite. Get out of my face!” Even I as a sinner knew this wasn’t right. If there was such a thing as a Christian, I knew this person wasn’t one. In almost every town there are church houses on every street corner, but I thought they were all social clubs and I didn’t want any part of that. However, one day as I sat reading the bible, the Lord said to me, “I’m knocking on the door of your heart; if you will let Me come in, I will come in and dine with you, and you with me.” Revelation 3:20 I said to the voice who spoke to me, “Okay, I have tried everything else this world has to offer, I may as well try you. People already think I’m crazy.” And in less time than it takes the heart to beat, my life was changed forever. I had nothing left of all that I had gained but a girlfriend who thought I had flipped out when I told her I was going to church that evening, and a thumb to ride wherever I wanted to go, but after the Lord’s invitation; I was as happy as a lark. (You can read my testimony, “The Conversion of a Dirty Old Man” listed at the top of this page.)

After my salvation experience, I read in James 4:6 which says, “God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” It was then I realized that what had happened to me the year before had been designed by God to break into my life. I answered Him when I heard His call, and instead of my pride destroying me, I was now loving life by the grace of God. What a difference grace makes. James 4:8-10, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded. Lament and mourn and weep! Let your laughter be turned to mourning and your joy to gloom. Humble yourself in the sight of the Lord, and He will lift you up.” This is what I had done with my previous life of sin. I gave the Lord my pride and He gave me grace to replace it. What a great God we serve. DThrash

Leave a Reply

