Me and My Big Mouth

Me and my big mouth has at times gotten me into more trouble than I could get out of. Ever known anyone like that? I just didn’t know when to shut up. Since God didn’t put a zipper in my mouth to keep it closed. My mouth seemed like it had a mind of its own and would start running and before long I would find I had dug myself into a hole so deep I would have to put up or shut up. Sometimes I won and sometimes I lost the ensuing fight.

I would be much older before I mastered the art of controlling my mouth. That came about one day some years ago while I was sitting in my Lazy-Boy Recliner reflecting upon my past life and why it was the way it was and how I might be able to change it thereby changing my future. I had become sick and tired of my mouth ruining my life. I gained a little wisdom that day when it dawned on me that most of the fights I had as a young man were caused by me and my big mouth. I was my own worst enemy. Me and my big mouth was the source of my problems; not the other person. Each time I could have walked away from the chatter and nothing would have happened, but I would get upset about something they said, and my mouth would fly open like it had an automatic opener on it and the words would burst forth like water rushing through a break in a dam and pretty soon the fight would be on.

I have gotten older and I have learned the problems I encounter today still come about because of me and my big mouth just like they did during my youth. My big mouth is the source of my problems. Always has been, always will be. Do you realize my problems and your problems are not started by other people, they are started by how we respond to those people. Do you think that is a coincidence? I don’t. King Solomon said in Proverbs 18:21 “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it shall eat its fruit.” What are we saying about our situation in life? Are we speaking life to our situation or are we speaking death to it. The words of our mouth is going to be manifested in the results we get. If we don’t like what we are getting, change what we are saying, and the results will change. I know, it sounds a lot simpler than it is, but if we speak good things, good things happen. If we speak evil things to one another, nothing good is going to come of it. Every war that has ever been started was started by words spoken from an uncontrolled mouth. An uncontrolled mouth is a evil mouth. Jesus said it best when He said, “Let your yes, be yes; and your no, no. Anything more than this comes from the evil one.” Who is the evil one? Our big mouth running out of control!

I am going to paraphrase Matthew 5:29 & 30, “If your eye cause you to sin, pluck it out; and if your hand causes you to sin, cut if off.” It is better to go into heaven minus and eye or a hand than it is to go to hell with that which causes us to keep sinning. The point Jesus was making in these scriptures is if something in our life leads us to keep sinning and we can’t control it; get rid of it or risk going to hell because of it. So, I guess we could say the same thing about our tongue, “If our big mouth causes us to keep sinning, cut the tongue out.” It is better to go to heaven without a tongue, than it is to go to hell with one that won’t stop wagging and creating problems for other people.

James, the half brother of Jesus had this to say about the tongue in our big mouth in his epistle, “Even so the tongue is a little member and boast great things. See how great a forest a little fire kindles! (or starts) And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. The tongue is so set among our members that it defiles the whole body, and sets on fire the course of nature, and it is set on fire by hell. No man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.” James 3:5-6&8 Our tongue is set on fire by hell and is an unruly evil, full of or spewing out deadly poison. Wow! The words of James pretty much described me and my big mouth when I was a youth. Thank God, I have since learned to change the way I talk. I speak good things over my life now and my life has changed significantly. I hope you will take heed to these few words I have written, and order your conversation aright, or change the way you talk and your life will become what you desire. DThrash

Leave a Reply

